Connect with us


Ranking the Top 10 Youngest F1 Pole Sitters

Youngest F1 Pole Sitters

As the Formula 1 has become increasingly competitive, the need for speed and young blood has been the dire need of the hour in the past few years. The record has shown that the age of the drivers have drastically come down and with that their age for first pole, first podium, first race win and eventually first World championship has come down too. With young drivers coming up in the driver’s line up in a fast pace, the pole position record started seeing young drivers taking their first pole at an age when one couldn’t think about racing few decades back.

From taking the pole in 23 years in the list, to topping the chart at just 21 years, the brilliant F1 drivers have come a long and smart way. It won’t be long until we see drivers take poles in their teens. Enough said, now let’s take a detailed look into the top 10 youngest pole-sitters in Formula 1. So, lights out and away we go.

#10. Robert Kubica

Robert Kubica.

Robert Kubica.

The number 10th driver is our list is Robert Kubica. In just 23 years 3 months and 30 days, Kubica achieved this milestone in 2008 Bahrain Grand Prix when he took the pole position is his BMW Sauber. Robert managed to hold onto to the podium place but lost the winner’s trophy to Ferrari’s Felipe Massa. Apart from BMW Sauber, The Polish driver also driven for Renault and Mercedes is his F1 Career and raked up 97 races to his name in total.

#9. Nico Hülkenberg

Nico Hulkenberg

Nico Hulkenberg.

Up next in 9th place we have Nico Hulkenberg from Germany. Apart from being the ninth in this list, Nico, also holds the record of a being a driver who never won a podium in their entire career. At just 23 years 2 months and 19 days, Hulkenberg achieved a pole position in 2010 Brazilian Grand Prix in his Williams-Cosworth. Nico, however failed to keep a podium place in the race and ended in P8. Apart from Williams, the German has raced for Force India, Sauber, Renault and Racing Point and raked up 182 races to his name.

#8. Andrea de Cesaris

Andrea de Cesaris.

Andrea de Cesaris.

In the 8th place we have Andrea de Cesaris from Italy. The Italian fetched the pole position at just 22 years 10 months and 4 days racing in his Alfa Romeo in the 1982 United States Grand Prix West. Cesaris however couldn’t keep his pole position or a podium place at the end of the race but that doesn’t make him a less achiever. Andrea, is also famous for being the driver with the most number of races without a podium.

#7. Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton.

At just 22 years 5 months and 3 days, Lewis Hamilton achieved this incredible feat in the 2007 Canadian Grand Prix. Regarded as the best formula 1 driver to exist alongside Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton is the seventh youngest pole-sitter in the history of Formula 1. The Briton is already a Mercedes legend and has six World Championship titles with them in 2014, 2015 and then from 2017 till 2020 there was no looking back for him. Hamilton also won one with Championship McLaren in 2008 and currently stands as the hottest prospect in Formula 1 world.

#6. Rubens Barrichello

Rubens Barrichello

Rubens Barrichello.

Next in the 6th place we have Rubens Barrichello from Brazil. The Brazilian achieved this Milestone at just 22 years 3 months and 5 days in the 1994 Belgian Grand Prix in his Jordan Hart. Failing to win the race or keep his podium place Barrichello spun off the track after lap 19 unfortunately to retire. However, this didn’t let him settle for less and Rubens ended up having 322 races to his name after driving for the teams like Stewart, Ferrari, Honda, Brawn and Williams.

#5. Lance Stroll

Lance Stroll

Lance Stroll.

Up ahead in the 5th place we have Lance Stroll. The son of Lawrence Stroll has started racing at an early age and in just 22 years and 16 days in 2020 Turkish Grand Prix. After leading almost 36 laps, Stroll lost the lead of the race to Lewis Hamilton and podium to his fellow teammate Sergio Perez. With a disappointing P9 finish, the ending wasn’t sweet for Stroll who now races for Aston Martin alongside Sebastian Vettel in 2021.

#4. Max Verstappen

Max Verstappen.

Max Verstappen.

Now in the 4th position we have none other than Max Verstappen. The hot favourite to win the 2021 Formula 1 world championship, Max has done the incredible in just 21 years 10 months and 5 days in the 2019 Hungarian Grand Prix. After claiming the pole and leading most of the race, Max ultimately had to surrender his lead to Lewis and had to be happy with P2. Being the youngest F1 driver, Max has been impressive since the start of his career with Toro Rosso, the Red Bull sister team.

#3. Fernando Alonso

Fernando Alonso

Fernando Alonso.

In the top 3 we now have Fernando Alonso as no. 3 in the list. The Spaniard achieved this impressive record in just 21 years 7 months and 23 days at the 2003 Malaysian Grand Prix in his Renault. The race result, however wasn’t the best for him as he had to settle for the podium finish despite leading the first 13 laps. That was this Maestro’s first pole and from there onwards, the 39-year-old managed to clock up 323 races to his name and it’s still counting.

 #2. Charles Leclerc

Charles Leclerc

Charles Leclerc.

In the 2nd place we have Charles Leclerc, the Monegasque driver. In just 21 years 5 months and 15 days, Charles picked up this amazing feat in 2019 Bahrain Grand Prix driving his Ferrari. After leading almost 30 laps, Lewis Hamilton again took lead from him and Leclerc had to settle for Podium finish after a brilliant race in the end. Charles is now still with the Maranello based team and is one of the promising talent the Formula 1 has in store.

#1. Sebastian Vettel

Sebastian Vettel

Sebastian Vettel.

Now finally we have the youngest ever pole-sitter in the history of Formula 1. It is none other than Sebastian Vettel from Germany. At just 21 years 2 months and 11 days, Sebastian achieved this astonishing feat in 2008 Italian Grand Prix when he grabbed the pole position. Vettel, regarded as the Red Bull legend took the F1 World by storm when he won back to back four Driver’s World Championship from 2010 to 2013 and is the youngest Driver’s World Champion as well.

So, did you like our list of the top 10 youngest F1 Pole Sitters? Mail us to give your feedback.


Last Update


More in F1